Williams Squared...is an all-instrumental father/son collaboration by New England resophonic guitarist Roger Williams and son JD Williams. Roger has been on the bluegrass music scene since he first appeared with the Lilly Brothers & Don Stover back in 1963 at age 14. He has since gone on to perform and/or record with such bluegrass music luminaries as Joe Val, Hazel Dickens, Bill Grant & Delia Bell, Bill Harrell, Mac Wiseman, Bill Clifton, Red Rector, Tom Gray, Art Stamper, Wyatt Rice, Stuart Duncan, Mark Schatz, Jesse Brock, Russell Moore, Dale Ann Bradley, Michael Cleveland, Ron Stewart, Chris Jones, and Ned Luberecki, appearing on record labels Rounder, Flying Fish, Pinecastle, Compass, Signature Sounds, CMH, Strictly Country, and Turquoise, among others.

JD Williams has been performing with his father in the ensemble Amy Gallatin & Stillwaters since his debut in 2005 in the northeast US and Canada. He has also toured throughout Europe, the UK, and Ireland, and is a graduate of the Berklee College of Music in Boston, Massachusetts.

The album features all-original instrumentals penned by this father and son team and performed in the bluegrass music style; Roger's tunes trend toward respectful adherence to traditional music forms, while JD's are more "out of the box", infused with youthful vigor and creativity. Each enlisted his musical "posse" for the compositions; Roger reuniting with banjoist/guitarist Dave Dick, with whom he toured in the bluegrass group Southern Rail, guitarist Lincoln Meyers from his days in the New England Bluegrass Band, and longtime musical collaborator, Canadian fiddler Ray Legere. For this recording and while living in Boston attending Berklee, JD tapped into the thriving Boston music scene to recruit Della Mae members Kimber Ludiker and Courtney Hartman, along with banjoist and fellow Berklee student Gabe Hirshfeld. JD also joins his father on Dobro in his twin resophonic guitar creation 'Crystal Ice Cave'.

See what Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine said about it:

The songs:

1. prelude
2. Roger's Reel
3. Crimson Raptor

4. Glastonbury Woodshed
5. Last Ride Of The Red Bomber
6. Old Friends
7. Wood Pile
8. Loose Tappets
9. Crystal Ice Cave
10. Roger's Rag
11. Bridge Over Fawn Brook
12. Jonathan's Lullaby Revisited
13. Fifty Flamewood
14. adieu

The musicians:

Roger Williams - dobro & bass
JD Williams - mandolin, bass, bowed bass
Lincoln Meyers - rhythm & lead guitar
Courtney Hartman - rhythm & lead guitar
Dave Dick - rhythm & lead guitar, banjo
Gabe Hirshfeld - banjo
Ray Legere - fiddle
Kimber Ludiker - fiddle

here to listen and/or to purchase.

Roger Williams © 2023 rogerreso@yahoo.com Website design by Roger Williams